How to reset network settings on Windows 10

While using the Internet on your PC, sometimes you face network problems. Network issues do not always occur, but only when the network connection is interrupted. This can also happen when network settings and drivers fail.

One of the excellent things about Windows 10 operating system is that it provides users with easy troubleshooting options to solve network problems. Here are the best two ways to reset your network connection. You can solve all network-related problems by resetting the network.

1) By using Windows 10 network settings:

In this process, the setting application is required to reset the network settings. Below are two simple steps to reset network settings on Windows 10:

  1. First of all, click the “Start” button in the upper left corner of the screen. After clicking this button, you can view various options. Scroll down and click on the “Settings” icon. After that, choose the “Network and Internet” option on the settings page.
  2. Click the “Status” option on the settings page. Then click the “Network Reset” option.

That’s all you need to do to reset network settings by using the Settings app on Windows 10.

reset-network-settings-in-windows-10

2) By using the command prompt:

If you are not able to resolve network-related issues through the settings application, please reset the network settings as follows. With the help of the command prompt, you can reset the network settings on Windows 10 in a very simple way.

Steps to reset the network settings:

  1. First of all, you need to start the command prompt on the computer by clicking the Windows icon and then “Command Prompt (Admin)”.
  2. Now you have to type the command “netsh winsock reset” without any quotation marks, and then press “Enter” key.
  3. After that you need to wait a few seconds, and you will receive a “Winsock reset successfully completed” notification on the screen.

netsh-winsock-reset-windows-10

This is the easiest way to reset the network settings through the command prompt. Now you can restart the computer and verify the changes that have been made.

Leave a Reply