Basically LinkedIn sends email notifications to every user’s mail Id periodically to inform them of their profile visits. The sent list consists of 5 persons who recently viewed your profile but if you have subscribed for a premium membership, then you will be able to view the entire list of visitors who visited your profile the week before.
LinkedIn has this facility since a long time now but now a day they are publicizing it too much making it quite awkward. For instance, if a person is searching a particular profile on Google and casually opens his LinkedIn profile, then he would definitely not prefer if LinkedIn sends a notification or mail to the other person regarding the visit. Luckily, LinkedIn has a convenient alternative in this matter so that the “Who Viewed your Profile” option can be disabled altogether.
By doing so, you can not only be able to block others from getting an idea about your visits nor will you be able to know about the persons who visited your LinkedIn profile currently.